

Minutes of the seventh meeting of the eleventh triennium of the Strategy and Policy Committee (Live Streamed) held at 10.00am on Tuesday 13 October 2020, in the Tararua Room, Horizons Regional Council, 11-15 Victoria Avenue, Palmerston North.

PRESENT Crs RJ Keedwell (Chair), EM Clarke and DB Cotton (via audio visual

link), SD Ferguson, EB Gordon, FJT Gordon, WM Kirton (via audio visual link), JM Naylor, NJ Patrick, WK Te Awe, and

GJ Turkington.

IN ATTENDANCE Chief Executive Mr MJ McCartney

Group Manager

Corporate and Governance Mr C Grant Committee Secretary Mrs JA Kennedy

ALSO PRESENT At various times during the meeting:

Dr J Roygard (Group Manager Natural Resources & Partnerships), Mr R Strong (Group Manager River Management), Mr G Shirley (Group Manager Regional Services & Information), Mr T Bowen (Principal Advisor), Mrs K McDowell (Senior Communications Advisor), Mr J Bell (Manager Investigations & Design), Mr K Russell (Operations Manager River Management), Mr T Bowen (Manager Policy & Strategy), Mr R Smillie (Environmental Manager), Mr J Twomey (Senior Policy Analyst Iwi), Mr C Davey (Environmental Programme Coordinator), Mr D Clapperton (Chief Executive Horowhenua District Council) and Mr J Hutchings (Henley Hutchings),

and a member of the press.

The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting and invited Cr Te Awe Awe to say a Karakia.

APOLOGIES

SP 20-32 Moved Keedwell/Patrick

That the Committee receives an apology from Cr Benbow.

CARRIED

PUBLIC FORUMS / DEPUTATIONS / PETITIONS

There were no requests for public speaking rights.

SUPPLEMENTARY ITEMS

There were no supplementary items to be considered.

MEMBERS' CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

There were no conflicts of interest declared.



CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

SP 20-33 Moved

Naylor/Ferguson

That the Committee:

confirms the minutes of the Strategy and Policy Committee meeting held on 8 September 2020 as a correct record, and notes that the recommendations were adopted by the Council on 22 September 2020.

CARRIED

PRESENTATION: FOXTON FUTURES

Report No 20-141

Mr David Clapperton, Chief Executive (Horowhenua District Council) and Mr J Hutchings (Henley Hutchings), spoke to a presentation which sought Horizons Regional Council's support for the Hororwhenua District Council's application for funds from the Freshwater Improvement Fund for water quality improvement in the Lower Manawatu River/Estuary.

SP 20-34 Moved Ferguson/F Gordon

That the Committee:

a. receives the presentation on Foxton Futures from David Clapperton and John Hutchings (Henley Hutchings).

CARRIED

PEST PLAN UPDATE

Report No 20-142

Dr Roygard (Group Manager Natural Resources & Partnerships), Mr Smillie (Biodiversity, Biosecurity & Partnerships Manager), and Mr Davey (Pest Plant Coordinator) updated Council on progress against the pest plant species managed within the Regional Pest Management Plan and outlined its intent and management objectives.

SP 20-35 Moved Patrick/Kirton

That the Committee recommends that Council:

- a. receives the information contained in Report No. 20-142.
- b. considers the results of the review of the Regional Pest Management Plan as a part of the budget process for the Long-term Plan.

CARRIED



CLIMATE ACTION STRATEGY

Report No 20-143

Mr Bowen (Manager Policy & Strategy) introduced the report and Climate Action Strategy which set the framework and strategic approach to prepare for future action in regard to climate change issues. After consideration of the Strategy, recommendation c. was amended to reflect the discussion.

SP 20-36 Moved F Gordon/Te Awe Awe

That the Committee recommends that Council:

- a. receives the information contained in Report No. 20-143 and Annex;
- b. notes that the attached Climate Action Strategy offers a broad approach to guide Horizons' response to climate change;
- c. delegates to the Chair of Council, Chair of Environment and the Chief Executive to consider feedback from Members and bring a revised version to Council for adoption.

Against: Cr Ferguson

CARRIED

Cr Te Awe Awe closed the meeting with a Karakia	ā.	
The meeting closed at 11.50am.		
Confirmed		
CHIEF EXECUTIVE	CHAIR	